Soundtower software- computer guys help!

Information and discussion about the Evolver family of instruments, including the Desktop Evolver, the Poly Evolver rack and keyboard, and the Mono Evolver Keyboard.

Soundtower software- computer guys help!

Postby Soundquest2 » Wed Oct 15, 2014 3:40 pm

I've been using the soundtower editor for PEK for a few years with no issues. Recently I had to replace my midi/usb interface since I broke my old one. I got the same brand. Slightly different model. Hosa Technologies USM-422.

This works fine for my PO8. But I'm thinking this might a cause for my recent issue when I use it on PEK:

I'm able to twist knobs on the PEK and see them turn on my computer (soundtower editor). However I cannot turn the knobs on the editor and have them actually control the instrument. Also, I cannot open or save patches from my computer. I tried every midi setting in software (under midi settings) but cant get this to work. Now all my patches are held hostage on my computer.

DO you think this might just be the case of a cable that works for PO8, but not for the PEK? Or is this like some kinda computer issue?
Soundquest2

Re: Soundtower software- computer guys help!

Postby snowcrash » Wed Oct 15, 2014 8:26 pm

Cheaper MIDI interfaces often have problems with longer sysex srings. It might be, there's some differences in the Evolver/P08 Sysex format that causes the PEK dumps to fail on the USM-422.

Do a Google search on your interface name and "sysex problem", several threads and comments show up. I guess you'll have to find something that has been approved to work well with sysex.

But don't worry, there are alternatives: for me a similar cheap cable has worked fine with the PEK's sysex: the CME U2 MIDI To USB Cable.